hellkvist.org Forum Index hellkvist.org
Discussions about the free software on hellkvist.org

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

just got here

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    hellkvist.org Forum Index -> Peffisaur
View previous topic :: View next topic  
rangerdave

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 11:34 pm    Post subject: just got here Reply with quote

Im still learning whats the what but highly interested.

2 main questions

--it seems that i will need a linux box to really make this work..?

and i have worked my way through the lgvx6100 and dont see where to change the settings that many refer to, my phone is not on the working list...??

thanks in advance!!

RD
Peffis
Site Admin

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 3:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, you don't HAVE to have a Linux box. Any Unix machine with Apache and PHP would do nicely. Setting it up on Windows might not work however unless you are willing to do lots of rework - especially the email interface is rather UNIX-ified I'm afraid.

Even if your phone is not listed it will most likely work anyway. Peffisaur offers two alternative ways of posting messages to the site - one using the email interface and the other using the direct HTTP posting method. The email interface does not require any special settings in the phone. Just set it up to work with your operator's MMSC so that you can send MMS to other people. Then send it to the email address you got when registering at Peffisaur.